Symphonic Ave Maris Stella

Symphonic Ave Maris Stella
Composer: Henrique Coe
Year of composition: 2017 (original for full orchestra)
Chamber orchestra version: 2018
Duration: approximately 6 minutes

Video 1: Coe’s doctoral recital in composition – University of Toronto (May 30, 2018)
Maria Vallejo, flute
Kira Shiner, oboe
Kaye Royer, clarinet
Sam Fraser, bassoon
Daniel Ho, French horn
Brian McAuley, trumpet
Brayden Friesen, trombone
Matt Moore and Jonny Smith, percussion
Myriam Blardone, harp
Felipe Muñoz Garcia, Alexey Pankratov and Vivian Kukiel, violin I
Joella Pinto, Madeleine Zarry and Ah Young Kim, violin II
Emily Hiemstra and Vena Lin, viola
Matthew Christakos and Brendan Rogers, violoncello
Chiara Culmone, contrabass
Henrique Coe, conductor

Program note:
Originally written for full orchestra, Ave Maris Stella is based on the Gregorian chant “Ave Maris Stella” and has a duration of approximately 6 minutes.
After a short introduction marked by the seagull effect, the Gregorian melody is stated with different combinations of instruments. Variations of this melody take place and a counter-melody soon acquires an important role. Orchestration varies constantly throughout the piece, presenting different colours. A coda recalling the opening concludes the piece in a soft manner.
The Orquestra Filarmônica de Minas Gerais conducted by Marcos Arakaki premiered Maris Stella on August 24, 2017 at the finale of the composition competition “Festival Tinta Fresca” at Sala Minas Gerais (Belo Horizonte – Brazil). According to the organizers, approximately 1,100 people attended the concert.
The chamber orchestra version was performed for the first time on Coe’s doctoral recital in composition on May 30, 2018 at the University of Toronto.

Video 2: rehearsal for the Festival Tinta Fresca 2017 at Sala Minas Gerais (Belo Horizonte – Brazil)
– criação: Comunicação ICF
– produção audiovisual: Apiário
Orchestra: Orquestra Filarmônica de Minas Gerais
Conductor: Marcos Arakaki