Ascendit Deus

Ascendit Deus

Composer: Henrique Coe

Concert: Oct 16, 2018 (Student Composers Concert)
Walter Hall (University of Toronto)
[Reverb added]

Sopranos: Mélissa Danis and Rosemonde Desjardins
Altos: Martina Myskohlid and Courtney Waldie
Tenors: Kevin Mulligan and Benjamin Gabbay
Basses: John Krutschke and Benjamin Loyst
Nicholas Wanstall, organ
Henrique Coe, conductor

Program Note:
The piece is one of the choral pieces from the Symphony “The Saviour”, which was mainly composed in 2014. The choral pieces of the symphony can be sung as independent pieces. The texts were extracted from the 1961 Liber Usualis, following the liturgical instructions, and from the Vulgata.
The world premiere of “Ascendit Deus” took place on October 16, 2018 at the University of Toronto.
“Ascendit Deus” is the Offertory Proper of the Mass of the Ascension of Our Lord in the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite.

Ascéndit Deus in iubilatióne, et Dóminus in voce tubæ, allelúia.

God is ascended with jubilee, and the Lord with the sound of trumpet, allelúja.